The two owners of the farm Rietvallei had a disagreement and in 1856 each laid out a town on his section. One town was called Hopedale and the other Lyons. In 1865 a church was built on the land between the two towns and the argument was settled through the efforts of the church folk. The new church was given the name of Uniondale and became a municipality in 1884.
Uniondale is en route to Willowmore and Haarlem and access is through the beautiful Uniondale Poort on the one side or the quaint Potjiesberg Pass. The name of the Potjiesberg is quaint too. Directly translated it means little pot, bu when one sees it and the pass, it resembles a round pepper pot.
The pass is modern, orginally built in 1962, and the roads are in exceptional condition. The view over the valley from the top of the pass is magnificent.
Indeed the drive along the N9, runs parallel to the Kammanasieberge, and the views one is treated to, enchant and enthrall the full distance of about 80kms.
Visit the beautiful town of Uniondale, probably renowned more for the famous Uniondale ghost, and then head out on the R339 through the Uniondale Poort.
This Poort, recently damaged in severe floods, is being repaired, but it remains something very special, as one follows the Kammanasie River through the mountain.
During the Anglo Boer War, Uniondale was protected by six British forts, of which one has been restored to its original state and boasts a bird's eye view of Uniondale, well worth the visit.